I Don’t Know About You…But I’m Feeling Twenty-Two!

Almost Twenty Two weeks! What a couple of weeks it has been. I had my twenty week appointment last week and it’s confirmed…baby King is a sassy, sweet, precious and beautiful baby GIRL! Yes, I already know all these things about her. I have finally started to feel her move, which is one of the strangest and coolest things in the world. I’m still having a  lot of, “What the heck is going on?” moments, but I’m getting more comfortable and used to the weirdness.

allthepink

I’m so excited about having a girl. A boy would have been fun, but I would have been very confused about what to do with a boy. I know girls better. I’m already thinking about all the things I hope she gets to experience. I hope she is spunky and funny, I hope she learns how to love so fiercely it scares her, I hope she is crazy passionate about something whether it is sports, music, school or anything else she may decide to love.  I just can’t wait to watch her learn about the world and become a beautiful, special and caring woman. Very exciting.

I’ve been modifying more than usual the last couple of weeks in the gym. I’m almost twenty-two weeks into this pregnancy thing. Twenty two!  Kipping is done. I’m working strict movements. I’ve been doing strict pull ups in WODs and also static holds over the bar at the end of my strength pull up sets. My goal is to keep my upper body STRONG. I’m starting a circuit of a lot of isolation and pressing this week. . My goal is to go through this three to four times a week.  I’m doing everything I can to make sure I can come back strong! Yesterday I did this for the first time…

Six Rounds

10 Reps Bench Press 95#

10 Reps DB Curls 25#

10 Reps DB Row 30#

16 Walking Lunges

While this doesn’t look like a lot, I’m not used to the isolation. I should be doing this a lot more. I did shoulder presses in class that day so normally those will be in the routine as well. I also plan to add weight to my lunges. The weight was a little light, but I was just playing around trying to see what worked. I want to come up with something that is automatic.

Squatting still feels fine, but I know soon enough that will probably change. My squat sets are heavy enough to feel like it’s working, but not that I’m straining too much. I love my leg strength and I’ve been really nervous about losing it. I’ve added sled pulls and prowler pushes back into my routine now that the weather is getting nice. I love that burn!

Yesterday was a very strange day for me. I knew this day was coming, but I wasn’t quite ready for it. I am no longer doing push ups from my toes….I did knee push ups. I was being a bit stubborn about it. I’ve been doing hand release push ups and making sure I don’t come down too hard on my stomach, but now that I really do have a little bump those are out the window. Knee Push Ups were surprisingly still difficult. I was happy about that. My plan is to go to ring push ups. Ring push ups are hard and I can still get really good range of motion. Something new and different!

The cool thing is, I feel awesome. I can breathe like a pro, I have energy when I work out and I’m really motivated. A group is starting Whole 30 on Monday so I’m joining in on a very modified basis. Basically, the goal is to make myself cook at home. I’ve already been cooking at home more this week. I forget how much I enjoy it and how good I feel when I’m in the kitchen. Veggies have been the one thing that has been hard for me to eat a lot of during this pregnancy so I’m ready to get them back in the mix.

In other news….our regional is next weekend. I’ve been having moments of sadness, excitement and straight up annoyance as we prepare to send our team and the events are released. I’ve obviously accepted the fact that I won’t be competing, but I’m still going to have a hard time watching everyone else do it. I’ve loved getting to help our team prepare. They are going to be amazing. If I’m being honest, I’m not super sad I’m missing the legless rope climbs. I am, however, excited to tackle those come October! Good luck to these folks. Love you guys more than you know. Thanks for being you. Go crush Chicago for me!

hoachamps

 

Leave a Reply

