I Heart Toes to Bar

That title is sarcastic…..

Last week shaped up to be a great week. Lots more confidence building and a lot more “I better keep my butt in gear” moments. The best of both worlds.

This week I made a trip to Fort Worth to do Open Wod 12.3 with Candice Ruiz. We had decided before the Open we would try to get together for at least one of the five. I’ve really enjoyed competing with her this “pre season”. We have similar strengths and weaknesses and we push each other a lot. I like that.

We decided we would get together for the third wod before it was posted. I’m so incredibly glad it was this one. Being 18 minutes long, it was awesome to have some good motivation. CrossFit Iron Horse made my husband and I feel incredibly welcome. They have a great facility. If you are in the Fort Worth area you must check them out. There was a big crew going through the wod that Sunday. Lots of strong guys and gals! A big thank you to all of you that cheered us on and made us feel right at home.

I finished 12.3 with 407 reps. I thought going in that toes to bar would be the limiting factor for me. I couldn’t have been more right. I kept them together the first five or six rounds. Broke into two sets for two rounds ( I think…it is still a blur) and then went to triples and  mostly singles. I had four no reps. Ugh. I’ve been working really hard on this movement. I have zero flexibility in my hamstrings, glutes and hips. It really affects me in a negative way. Shocker.  As much as they have improved, I still have a long way to go. HQ loves toes to bar. I hate them. Hate them. Hate them. Hate. My lungs were never an issue. Box jumps and push press/jerk went great. I broke up the last set of push press into 8 and 4 because I got out in front and off-balance.

Candice and I finished just 11 reps from each other. We stayed together going back and forth the whole time. She is sitting in 3rd in South Central and I’m sitting in 5th in the North Central. Nevermind that someone brought me up in a discussion on the leaderboard comments page. I actually don’t disagree with the argument, but found it funny that people are getting worked up about this stuff with two wods to go.  All I can say is that it made me laugh and the scores mean nothing until we get to regionals and everyone goes head to head. That is when the fun starts.

I’m ready for a dead lift or front squat. I want my legs to burn! Come on 12.4. Hopefully I don’t regret what I’m asking for…

This past week was full of PR’s….thruster, back squat, Grace and Helen. Grace and Helen have plagued me for a long time. I just never seem to improve. My butterfly pull ups are still a work in progress, but are coming a long way. I made it through Helen keeping them together and not having to go to a regular kip. Progress! Typically I lose them fast when they are paired with pretty much anything else. This week I had a big break through in two wods with the butterfly! I know I will need it come regionals.

I’m hitting my goals and keeping my training in check. I’m not letting the leaderboard get to me, even though I love checking out all the scores and other regions. I admit it, I leaderboard. Thankfully this year it isn’t making me a crazy psycho. I’m so proud of all my friends who are doing so incredibly well!

For the next few weeks I’m focusing a lot on running. My other favorite. I’m also starting a new squat and bench cycle. YAY! This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

