Keep repeating….I love muscle ups…I love muscle ups….

This weekend I had to the opportunity to drop by my first CrossFit gym, CrossFit Jenks, and visit and WOD with some of the most fantastic people on the planet. I have a theory that Breck likes to torture me when I come to visit. I swear every time it is either a high rep muscle up or handstand push up WOD. I like both of these movements, but I’m not very good (I’m getting better) at them when we get into the high rep category.  I’m definitely improving, but I was looking forward to a good tail whooping on this one. I mean that in all seriousness, I love getting my butt kicked. It is a reminder that I have to keep working my own butt off to get where I need to be with my weaker movements.

The WOD….

5 Rounds for time of 7 muscle ups and 21 burpees.

I could not be more pleased with how it went for me. I hit my first 7 muscles ups unbroken. PR for me! I feel like I could have easily gotten 10 if I kept going. I was able to keep hitting multiples through the first three rounds. I finished round three at about 10:30. Then this happened….

My last two rounds went to singles on the muscle ups. Finished in 19:45. I was very happy with how it turned out. Yes, I know, It is super gross and incredibly painful. However, I will survive! This picture was taken 24 hours later. I’m tracking the healing process. 🙂 On the up side….my shoulders felt great the next day.

A few months ago I would have let a work out like this freak me out. I would have been nervous and upset if it didn’t go well. I’m dealing a lot better with frustration during a wod and being able to make adjustments and just keep going.

In nutrition news….

I made it through a weekend and Christmas celebration at my in laws without touching the sugar and grain! I was surrounded by mashed potatoes, noodles, and dessert after dessert after dessert. I came armed and ready with my go to snacks. Thanks to Perfect Paleo for helping me be prepared! I still enjoyed a great Christmas dinner. Ham, turkey and a lot of raw veggies. Surprisingly, I was incredibly satisfied! Day eight and I’m feeling good.

Here is a video of my 27 food handstand walk from Friday night. So close to that 30!! Big, big, big improvement from the last video I posted! I’m trying to figure out how to breathe while I do this. I find that I hold my breath almost the entire way and breathing without throwing myself off-balance is slightly difficult. Suggestions?


Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.

4 thoughts on “Keep repeating….I love muscle ups…I love muscle ups….

  1. Hey Ginny!!! Great read. How are those hands holding up?!

    I too have been working on handstand walks and have recently gotten further by narrowing my actual distance between my hands when I plant them to the floor. So, think about stacking your weight directly on top of your shoulders as you get into your handstand. The distance between my hands used to be pretty wide and this has seemed to help quite a bit.

    • Thanks Erin! Hands are surviving! I will try that out for sure. I’m finally able to keep myself from falling over when I start to feel off balance. Very exciting do be able to do something I didn’t have a prayer doing six months ago! 🙂 See you soon I hope!

Leave a Reply

