Happy Birthday Pumpkin Bread

Today is my husband’s birthday. He is entering his the last year of his twenties.  I love celebrating. I love the birthday dinner. Birthday cake. Birthday presents. I celebrate my birthday for a month and I get equally excited about celebrating my friend’s and family member’s birthdays.

Since I’ve decided to quit lackadaisical and full of excuses when it comes to my diet, I did not and will not be giving Kody a birthday cake this year. Instead, I made him birthday pumpkin bread! No grain, no artificial sugar, just good, natural ingredients. No, it doesn’t taste like the kind of pumpkin bread that I wished it tasted like. However, it 100% satisfies that “need” for some grain-y goodness without the grain and extra sugar!

Paleo Pumpkin Bread

2 1/2 cups of almond flour

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

2 large eggs

1/4  cup of raw honey

4 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp clove

1/4 tsp ginger

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degree. Mix wet ingredients together in small bowl with whisk (eggs, pumpkin, vanilla, honey, coconut oil). Mix dry ingredients together in large bowl until well blended (almond flour, spices, baking soda, salt).

Pour egg/pumpkin mixture into dry ingredients and blend together.

Pour into bread ban and bake for one hour.

A few suggestions….

Somehow I was out of cinnamon, but I did have pumpkin pie spice! I ended up using about a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of the 1/4 tsp’s and 1/2 tsp’s of the individual spices. If you use pumpkin pie spice you might want to add just a tad bit more than I did if you like spice as much as I do!

I used 1/4 cup of honey, but if you really want to taste sweetness go for 1/3 cup. This bread was not sweet by any means, but had just enough of a hint of sweetness to satisfy me.

I might add a bit more pumpkin next time, maybe 2/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup.

Kody put some Nutella on his hot pumpkin bread and was in heaven. I stayed away from it because Nutella and I have a co-dependent relationship…meaning once I have some I can’t live without it. Dangerous.

The verdict….

I will make this again! Obviously, it isn’t something I want to have around all the time. Just because it is a better version of something doesn’t mean portion control goes out the window! I think next time I might try to add some dried fruit or chopped nuts for some fun.

If you try this I would love to hear what you think and how you switched it up! I’m still a novice almond flour/grain free baker so these are a work in progress! I wish I had a picture to show the final result, but I wasn’t thinking!

Happy baking!

One thought on “Happy Birthday Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pumpkin bread is a favorite for me too, sounds yummy! This fall I made a similar version, but with some arrowroot powder for part of the almond flour. (Long link for the recipe I used, below.)

    It comes out a little drier, less heavy. If you do allow arrowroot, that’s a twist to consider. Also it seems to work better as muffins or mini-loaves, in terms of texture. Less birthday-ish, but there you go. I even sent a couple of mini-loaves to Brice. 🙂

    http://www.thehealthycookingcoach.com/2010/02/if-you-love-or-once-loved-pumpkin-bread-and-muffins-but-youre-avoiding-wheat-gluten-or-grain-youll-love-this-tasty-r.html

Leave a Reply

