My New Favorite Cookie!

I love the holidays. I don’t take the word love lightly either. I wish it was socially acceptable to keep my tree up, play Christmas music and burn holiday scented candles all year-long. No matter your religion or traditions, this is just a fun time of year. One of the things I look forward to most is baking. Obviously, trying to keep a cleaner diet over the past few years has made this a bit more challenging.

Yesterday the baking bug bit me. I don’t know what sparked it. Maybe it was the cold weather or the fact that we brought our Christmas tree down for the attic. (It does not go up until after Thanksgiving though!) I decided it was time to test out some almond flour cookies.  I have had a bag of almond flour forever. I have been trying to find ways to use it, but then I get lazy. Sure, these cookies aren’t really “holiday-ish”, but it kept me from going crazy and whipping up a couple of pounds of fudge.

Here is a link to the blog post where I found the recipe. It is originally from Elana’s Pantry, but this had some good substitution recommendations.

It only made eight cookies and they didn’t last longer than about one hour in our house. Oops. Needless to say, they were tasty!

1 1/4 cups blanched almond flour (no substitutes)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup agave nectar, or honey or maple syrup or rice syrup or brown sugar
1/4 cup grapeseed oil or canola or melted coconut oil
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4-1/2 cup chocolate chips

I used honey instead of agave nectar. After reading her reviews about using both, I wanted a more substantial dough. I also used coconut oil instead of grapeseed oil. It worked really well. My cookies needed about 11 minutes in the oven. My oven is a little slow, so I recommend checking on them every couple of minutes. They were easy to make! My own little changes were that I used dark chocolate chips and added a few chopped pecans. Super delicious!

I’m so excited that they turned out as well as they did so now I have a go to treat over the holidays…in moderation of course! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

