Feel Good Inc.

I feel like a new person.

A little history on my CrossFit/Nutrition journey. After my first regional competition in 2009 I saw how uh-mazing the ladies were that qualified for the games. Carey Kepler, Crystal McReynolds, Lindsey Smith… Not only were they fantastic athletes, but I noticed how well they ate. I saw them with healthy snacks during the competition and eating chicken breasts while I ate a burger and bun. Learning more about Games athletes and how important nutrition was to them sparked an interest in me.

I thought to myself, what would happen to me if I ate better? Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t eat awful. I still ate a lot of protein, veggies and fruit, but fat (nut butters and olive oil) was almost non-existent in my diet. I still had oatmeal in the morning and black beans for dinner. I let myself have sweets on special occasions, but didn’t overload during regular life. I was healthy and trim and very content. I didn’t see a huge need to change until I realized I could change a lot.

I went strict paleo for two months the beginning August following that competition. The first two weeks were awful. I felt tired. I wanted sugar more than anything. Then, all the sudden…I felt awesome. I dropped a couple of pounds, but didn’t see a drastic change in my body like I was hoping. I chalked this up to “well, I guess this is just where my body wants me to stay”.

After those two months I tried to adapt a 85/15 lifestyle of paleo. Very clean, but a fun two or three meals a week. It worked for me. The problem is, I can talk myself into anything. When I’m really hungry I can tell myself that my body “needs” twizzlers. I know, whose body actually needs twizzlers? Well, sometimes mine does. I accepted that.

I never worry about my weight. I always swing back and forth two or three pounds depending on how much I’m running or if I’m lifting heavy. I still always feel lean. I still always have been lean. The problem is, because I don’t see big gains if I eat poorly, I’m not really motivated to eat well all the time. I’m OK with have Chik-Fil-A because I will look exactly the same tomorrow.

Here lies my big problem….I started getting hung up on how I looked because of my diet…not because of how I felt because of my diet. I was so used to how I felt that I forgot what  it felt like to feel really awesome. Now I remember.

A week a go I decided I wanted to be for real. I’m not sure what sparked it. Maybe it was that I started verbalizing to people outside my inner circle that I really wanted to go to the Games. Maybe it was that my body weight is going to be taken into account at GODAI and I didn’t want to go down there and be shocked. Whatever it was that started to motivate me….it worked.

I have been grain free and processed sugar-free since last Monday. I have already dropped three pounds. I can see more muscle on me than I have been able to in a long time. Not only do I think I look better (just a bonus for this whole thing), but I feel stronger and am running a lot better. The best part is, this isn’t hard. I’m not eating anything out of the ordinary, I’m just not eating the extra junk I would let myself have. My base diet is the same. I feel so stupid that I haven’t been more diligent before. The only time I crave anything is if I go too long without eating. Easy fix. Eat all the time.

I have a ton of energy. Yesterday, Kody was telling me how he can notice a difference just in my attitude….minus the four hours yesterday where we weren’t able to get food and I was in a total “Hangry” mood. Not pretty. Despite that, he said I seem to be really happy and perky and motivated. I’m afraid people at the gym are going to have to start slapping me because I feel so bouncy and talkative. Now that I’m writing this…I’ve probably been flat-out annoying.

Maybe all my training is just starting to really sync together, but something awesome is going on! I have this incredible amount of confidence that I can’t really explain. It is the perfect storm if a perfect storm is a good thing.  Don’t even try to tempt me and put a cherry sour in my face because I will throw it back in yours.

I. Feel. Good.

Typical Day:

Breakfast: Turkey sausage, natural applesauce with cinnamon and raw almond butter.

Snack: Advocare Spark and turkey jerky

Lunch: Salad with lots of veggies and roasted chicken, a little cheese, sunflower seeds and oil and vinegar.

Pre Workout: Larabar

Post WOD: Advocare Post Workout Recovery (Love it. So Yummy)

Dinner: Grilled meats (lean steak, turkey or seafood) and veggies like cabbage, asparagus, broccoli and carrots. Olive oil to cook with and almond or avocado for additional fat.

Leave a Reply

