GODAI

November 5th I am traveling to New Braunfels, Texas to compete in the GODAI Elements Competition. I’m 100% excited. I’m teaming up with fellow OKC’er Kameron Rosenau. He is a beast and I think we will do well! I always love competing no matter the result. This seems to be a good, well-rounded competition. They are testing the ten physical skills which I remember specifically since I just took my Level 1 test:

Cardiovascular Endurance, Strength, Speed, Stamina, Flexibility, Power, Coordination, Agility, Balance and Accuracy. The only one I’m very nervous about testing is my flexibility. It seems to be non-existent.

The first event is a 2 mile trail run followed by a 200 meter swim. Having a strong swimming background I’m really looking forward to this event. Typically a 2 mile run would not thrill me, but this is a trail run. I actually enjoy trail runs! I’m much better comparatively on a trail than a road. Kameron joked this morning he was going to attach a long rubber band to me and just pull me behind him. I might do the same for him once we hit the water!

Second event is a CrossFit Total, which I did last weekend and talked about in my last post. The only difference is we are doing a front squat instead of a back squat. I have become quite a fan of the front squat so I’m anxious to do this! As a team, we will have twenty minutes and one bar to find our maxes. We can rep as many times as we want within the time limit. Our total score will be based upon on weight lifted and our combined body weight.

There will be more events. It sounds like there may be some strongman elements as well as gymnastics and typical CrossFit. I’m so excited! I know Kameron will be an amazing teammate! We are hoping for a five minute max muscle up event.

Who else is joining us?

As I said yesterday, I participated in Amazing Grace with Barbells for Boobs last night. It was a really fun event. My Grace was not exactly what I had hoped it would be…I’ve been much faster my last two attempts. Regardless, it was fun to be a part of such a good cause. They granted $10,000 to the OU facility to help women in our own area. Very cool.

I’m not sure what exactly went wrong with my performance other than I was too slow and methodical with my lifts in the beginning. I didn’t just let go and go for it. Shame. I like to quote Wedding Crashers often, especially when things don’t go my way and I’m trying to make sense of it in my head. “Rule #76. No excuses. Play like a champion!”

Leave a Reply

