Mr. T.

I love me some Tim Tebow. I’ve been a Gator fan since the day I was born thanks to my Florida roots. Not only do I love Tim because he is a phenomenal athlete, but he is a classy example of what hard work and dedication brings….awesomeness.

If you haven’t seen ESPN’s Year of The Quarterback Tim Tebow: Everything In Between, then you need to find it and watch it immediately. I have had it saved on my DVR since February. We bring it out every now and again for some needed inspiration. This is a clip detailing what a typical day was like for Tim prior to the draft.

He has said before one of his favorite quotes is as follows….

“Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.”

How much do you love that? If you follow football at all, one of the big stories out of the NFL yesterday was Tim Tebow’s second half near comeback for the Broncos. They ended up losing, but he brought them back  with a fighting chance. One TD run and one TD pass to teammate/past SEC rival Knowshon Moreno. Love that. He is expected to be named the official starting QB today by their head coach. Tebow has been questioned and hated on from day one. I love that despite all that garbage he kept his head together behind the scenes and now it is paying off in a big way.

Ok, realistically, none of us are going to be starting quarterbacks in the NFL, but that doesn’t mean we can’t take a page out of their play book and apply it to our own goals and ambitions whether it be in athletics, business or life in general.

This morning I woke up and just felt blah. There is no other way to describe it. I did not want to squat. I did not want to be cheery. I did not want to go to my client’s office. I just didn’t feel motivated. I finally managed to drag myself to the garage. I rowed a little and stretched out. I knew what was coming and I was not looking forward to it.

Back Squat 10 x 2 @ 220

My first set felt awkward, but I told myself, yes…I can make it through this! 210# is the heaviest I have ever gone for multiple reps of back squat. Sets two, three, four and five were great. I felt strong. Maybe today was going to be my day. Set six….epic fail. My entire core just collapsed on me at the bottom of rep one. There I am, alone in my garage with my 220# bar resting on the safety and I’m just staring at it. I did not want to unload the weight, re-rack and try again. I wanted to go inside and pout and be mad at myself for only getting half way through my sets. I wanted to quit…..so bad.

I pouted on the bench for about three minutes. I had a decision to make. I could tell myself I did the best I could and that was all I could handle and then try to convince myself that is true all day OR suck it up and try again. I unloaded the bar and re-racked the weight. I got through the rest of my sets pretty good form and a no failing.

Sometimes I have taken the other route. I tell myself it is OK if I don’t get through something that was really difficult or if it was something I had not done before. I give myself an out. Now sometimes, that is actually the case. Sometimes you have given everything you have and there just isn’t anything else there. However, it is easy to lie to myself so I feel better about what happened instead of admitting I can do more or do better.

I know getting through that was very tough for me this morning and it will help propel through this week with a good attitude. I’m not Tim Tebow, but I love his approach to hard work. I’m going to keep that with me moving forward. I have lots of power cleans, running and Fran to look forward to in the next few days!

Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

