Taking the Good with the Bad….

I’m a perfectionist and a control freak when it comes to most things in my life. It is a good thing and a bad thing. The good things are that I work really hard to get things right and I’m not satisfied with mediocre when I know I can do better. The bad is that I let my emotions get the best of me sometimes. I get very frustrated when things don’t turn out as I think they should. I stew on the “what ifs” a lot.

Yesterday my husband and I went to brunch after church. Yes, brunch. It was fantastic. What started as nice, normal conversation turned to CrossFit regionals past. Shocker.We were talking about the difference he can see on my face when I hold it together, which is about 95% of the time, and when I don’t.  I had 100% accepted my fate from regionals, but he was very right about what happened. There were a few wods he said he could see the fire in my eyes and that I wasn’t going to let anything stop me. Then a few others, I let my head get in the way of what I’m capable of doing a couple of times. It happens to everyone, but I get very upset when I let it happen to myself. I’m better than that.

Along with time and weight goals, something I’m striving to get better at is keeping my cool when things go terribly wrong. I’m making leaps and bounds of head way in this department. I’m learning to laugh at myself when I miss a lift. I get mad at the bar instead of mad at me. I take longer breaks in between lifts instead of getting frustrated and trying to get back at it too fast. I’m learning to accept that some days just aren’t going to be “my day” and that the next day will be. Rolling with the punches!

Friday, I PR’ed my push press by 10 pounds. 150. I missed 155, but I’m 100% confident I will get it next time. 150 felt so flippin easy. The following day, I was missing power cleans at 85% of my 1 rep max. I felt all out of sorts. I still have trouble accepting that one day I can feel really strong and the next day I can feel like I’ve never picked up a bar in my life.

In CrossFit, the mental is just as important as the physical. You can learn just as much about your mental game on a bad day as you can on a good one. Take note of how you react when things go wrong and figure out what you can do to cool yourself off and regain your composure.

Training:

Friday:

Push Press – 150 PR

“Christine”

3 rounds: 500 m row, 12 BW DL (135#) 21 24 inch Box Jump

Saturday:

Two Mile Doggy Dash! This is my sweet Bailey girl who ran her little heart out on Saturday. She made it a whole mile without stopping! She tied for 7th! Maybe she is a little more competitive than I thought!

Oly Work:

Hang Squat Snatch: 115 (PR) – I had never maxed out on this lift. Barely missed 120 which is only five pounds under my snatch PR. I’ll take it.

Hang/Power/Squat Clean work.

Two mile additional run

One thought on “Taking the Good with the Bad….

Leave a Reply

