Practice Makes Perfect…or In My Case…Better….

Last night was play time aka gymnastics class!

It was my third visit and I feel like I am making progress by leaps and bounds. We started with some floor work again. Last night I finally nailed the handstand, forward roll and pike back into handstand! Here is what it looks like. Body control! That is what I have been wanting to get out of this whole thing! I did my little happy dance which is really just me jumping up and down and waving my arms back and forth. I do not like to put all of my body weight over my shoulders. It makes me uncomfortable and nervous. That has really held me back on hand stands and last night I overcame that fear!

We also did some free-standing handstand chicken pecking. I do this on the wall a lot to build up strength in my shoulders. My friend Paige, who is a fabulous CrossFitter and ex gymnast, taught me the move. I couldn’t find a video of it, but basically we did a freestanding hand stand and then picked up our right hand to the arm pit and set it down. Then the left. Then the right. So on and so forth. I was able to hold the hand stand and do six repetitions. Mandy, our coach, said as gymnasts they would have contests doing this and easily get up to 250. Wow! seriously impressive!

Last night I experience the vault for the first time. Ok, I didn’t actually vault, but I did get to mimic it with the spring-board and very large mat. I did front handsprings and round offs on the “vault” or “big blue mat”. Next time she said she will lower the vault very low so I can practice actually using it and then we will raise it from there. Very exciting! Never in my wildest dreams would I think I would be able to vault! This is exactly what I did last night. My mat was a bit higher to mimic more of an actual vault. Yes, this girl is probably five. I probably don’t even qualify for a level 1 gymnast. Believe me, for me that was a big deal. I do not like being upside down in the air!

Lastly, I worked on pikes or press on the beam into a hand stand. This was on the very low beam. I was able to pike into the hand stand. Now I have to work on lowering myself out of it after I hold it. Lots of fun and great work for my shoulder and core stability! This is pretty much what it is, except my beam was just a few inches off the ground.

Three visits and I’m making a lot of progress. I can’t wait to see where I will be in a few more!

Training:

Tuesday:

Strength: Incline Bench

 WOD:

3 min AMRAP 10 Burpees 5 DB Thrusters 30#

Rest 3 Minutes

3 min AMRAP 6 C2B pull ups 9 V Ups (awful)

Rest 3 Minutes

3 min AMRAP 10 KB Swings 55# 10 Ball Slams 20#

Wednesday:

Strength: Front Squats 10×3 @ 155 It was my “back off” day of front squats. I love that 155 seems like a light weight to me now after all that heavy junk…which I go back to next week.

 WOD:

4 rounds for time:

1 Rope Climb, 7 HSPU’s, 30 Double Unders

Gymnastics class!

Rest day today. Thank goodness.

Leave a Reply

