Confidence

Everything we do in CrossFit requires confidence, at least for me it does. If I feel timid before I lift then I’m done. If I have a bad attitude or already feel defeated before a WOD because I don’t think I can handle the weight or movements, I’ve lost. You have to be confident in what you can do regardless of the outcome.

I spend a lot of time working on skills and technique. This means working on things I don’t like, AKA “Things I’m Not Good At”. Working on skills you aren’t comfortable with is awful. However, if you want to get better there is no getting around it. I will not get better at my snatch technique by not snatching. Dangit. I’ve spent a good portion of the last month working on snatches, butterfly pull ups, handstand push ups, split jerks, handstand walks and various other things.

The scary part is, once you work the skills you have to test them out in WOD’s. Right? This makes me nervous for a couple of reasons. 1. What if I can’t pull it off in a WOD? 2. What if being fatigued really makes my form suffer and then I fail, fail, fail? 3. What if I’m just never going to be able to get these movements down when it counts? Have I spent all the time working on these things only to see they still aren’t up to par? Frustrating.

Yesterday, my goal was to hit some heavy snatches and butterfly pull ups in my WOD.  Here is what I did:

3 Rounds for time:

10 GHD Sit Ups, 15 Butterfly Pull Ups, 2 Squat Snatches @ 110#, 10 Power Cleans @ 110#, 10 Burpees.

I have never used more than 95# for a squat snatch in a WOD. Honestly, 95# just became a weight I feel confident with when I’m tired. I had also not tested my butterfly pull ups out in a WOD yet. So, how did it go?

I hit all six snatches without failing. Actually, each round they felt better and better because I felt more and more confident. I didn’t waste time in between the two reps. I trusted my technique and pulled the heck out of the bar.  I hit my pull ups in sets of 10 and 5 each round. No, they aren’t perfect yet, but I can do them and they felt good. I know that I will be stringing together longer sets soon.

Small victories build confidence. Remember how it feels to succeed with a movement and remember that every single time you attempt it.

Training Note:

I try to work my pull ups a couple of days a week outside of wods. Here is a rep scheme I started using: 5 dead hang, 5 chest to bar, 5 kipping all unbroken x 2. This means all 15 pull ups are done before coming off the bar. The last few weeks I threw in a set of 5 butterfly after the dead hang bringing the total to 20. Try it in your warm up sometime this week. Make the reps higher or lower depending on what you can do.

Leave a Reply

